Jersey - Political Constitution

The Island has a special relationship with the UK, which has been continuing for the last 900 years. While the UK remains responsible for the Island's defence, Jersey is self-governing.

The queen has a representative in Jersey, the lieutenant Governor, who along with the Dean of Jersey, the Bailiff and the Attorney General are Crown appointed.

The governing body of the Island is the States of Jersey, presided over by the Bailiff, who is also President of the Royal Court. The States of Jersey is made up of:

The Senators, Connetables and Deputies are all elected by the people of Jersey.

Criminal and civil justice is administered by the Royal Court, presided over by the Bailiff and Jurats.

Jersey has its own currency, but unlike England, uses both 1 notes and coins. It also issues its own postage stamps and telephone cards which can only be used in Jersey (UK stamps and cards cannot be used in Jersey)

The population of Jersey is 84,082 (as at March 91)

The main industries are Finance, Tourism and Agriculture.

Jersey was occupied by the Germans during the Second World War. German planes landed in Jersey on July 1st 1940 and for nearly 5 years the Island remained under German rule until Liberation on May 9th 1945.

Jersey has 12 parishes. Each has its own Honorary Police Force. The chief is the Constable of the Parish. He or she is elected by the parishoners and has a seat in the States and Honorary Police, run by the Centeniers, who are inter-linked with the States Police. The Honorary Police Force is unsalaried.

[ Index ]

[ Feedback form ]

[ JerseyWeb Home Page ]

Last updated: 14th February 1997 by Anthony Hamon